Skip to content

Obama or Stein: Who deserves my vote?

May 25, 2012

Jill Stein

This has been the question I have been struggling with over the past few weeks.

For those of who do not know  Jill Stein, she is a medical doctor from Massachusetts who is seeking the Green Party nomination for president.

I heard a lot of good things about Dr. Stein during a previous run for governor at least a decade ago. She is a credible human being and a smart person who offers a true challenge to the worn out policies of both the Democratic and Republican parties.

Of course, it is always difficult for any voter to cast a ballot against their “home” party (in my case, the Democratic Party), and there are countless studies in the political science literature to confirm this. But Stein seems to offer the real change that Obama promised four years ago but was not sincere enough to deliver.

Voting for Stein might also clear my conscience. I can say I voted for someone I believed in rather than just the less of two evils.

Yes, there will people who will argue that a vote for a true liberal like Stein is like a vote for Republican Mitt Romney, but that argument falls flat in Maryland, which Obama will win by a landslide.

There is still time for me to decide. But as I go to cover the Green convention in Baltimore this summer, I will be keeping a close ear to the ground to see if the third party is serious enough in how it plans to tackle this campaign season and whether it will make a credible run, if not to win, then at least move the political dialogue in the right direction — or should I say, left direction.

Stay tuned.

From → Commentary

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

